Return to Website

The Windsor Castle Forum

A forum to discuss the Windsor Castle and her voyages - contibutions welcome from passengers, officers and crew!

The Windsor Castle Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
WINDSOR CASTLE - MEMORIES

August 22, 2001

I'm a 51-year-old journalist and recent ex-broadcaster from Cape Town, now living with my wife just outside London.

I'm at that stage of life where nostalgia starts to mean something, when one goes quietly looking for the past. Mine was a past in which the Windsor Castle loomed large - for no particular reason, other than the fact that I was privileged to travel on her often, right up to and including her last Coastwise voyage in 1977 from Cape Town to Durban and back.

At this age, it is ridiculous to have to admit that one was hopelessly in love with a floating piece of machinery. From the time that I was a callow 11-year-old to the present, I have loved the Windsor - almost been in awe of her - because of what she represented; the milestones that she marked in my life, the curious fact that she was a link - a thread - that joined good and sunny happenings together in a golden youth spent in the African sun. I have - until now - always scoffed at the sentimentalists who attribute human qualities and personalities to inanimate objects - that is, until today when I went on the three-page virtual tour of the decaying Windsor - insultingly renamed after the wife of some Greek shipping magnate, and mouldering off Piraeus.

The Windsor - more than any of the others, and I have travelled on them, too - was eerily benevolent, solid, welcoming and comforting. It was a shio of immense character. The seasons in Cape Town - I overlooked the harbour - were punctuated by its siren, or hooter, or whatever, which I had come to recognise in the same way that one knows the sound of one's own car or the voice of one's cat.